top of page

What have you learned?

On Monday, July 13, 2020, I had the privilege to speak with a retired university professor and his wife. We discussed many different aspects of education, and how education has changed since March of 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Through our conversation, I learned that he and his wife committed to learning something new during the quarantine. They decided to learn Spanish together. In just over 60 days, they can communicate fairly well in Spanish.

The conversation with the professor got me thinking about what I have been doing for personal development during the pandemic. In May, I wrote about digital education. I wrote about how I felt that I should return to learning in a digital format so that I could recall and remember the frustrations that can occur with digital learning. I mentioned that I would be taking business related courses from Sophia Learning. Since May, I have completed two additional courses, and am currently taking a fourth course. It is my desire to take enroll in one more course before the free period ends. After completing that course, I will be transferring all of my transcripts to a partner school. I believe that I am on track to achieve an Associate's Degree in Business within a year.

I have been asked about the courses from Sophia Learning. Common questions have been:

Are the courses easy because they are free? NO!

Are the courses of high quality? Yes.

Are the courses time consuming? I would say that I dedicate about 7-10 hours a week to the course.

How many courses can you take at one time? I'm not sure. I committed to taking one at a time

because I am still working.

Have you decided on which partner school to transfer the transcript to? Not yet.

Would you recommend Sophia Learning to other people? Yes, I would and I have.

I have been challenged by the courses that I have taken on Sophia Learning. I have learned so much about business and economics. I feel like I will be better able to understand and execute appropriate business decisions.

Now that I have updated you on what I've been learning during this pandemic, please share what you have learned.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page