top of page

Academic Strategies.......

I have completed my first term with Purdue University Global. I took two classes during the first term. Those classes were Accounting II and Academic Strategies for the Business Professional.


In the Accounting II class, I developed skills that I learned during Accounting I. I learned how to better decipher reports by publicly traded companies. I also learned how to figure out profit ratios. I found the information and the math informative yet challenging.


The second class was titled Academic Strategies for the Business Professional. This class is misnamed in my opinion. This class was about self discovery. The discussions, seminars, readings, and self-assessments helped the student to discover their learning styles. The class then went on to help explain how to put those skills to use to help the student be an effective learner, especially in an online education situation.


As mentioned above, I believe that the class is misnamed. I believe the class should be named Academic Strategies for Students. I believe that this course would be useful for all students, especially those who are new to online education. The course is a journey in self discovery and self awareness. Those topics are then applied to skills needed by students, such as time management, note taking, and writing essays. During the last week of the term, students needed to complete a survey on the course and the course instructor. In the comment section, I relayed my opinions on the course and that I believe it should be renamed and should be a requirement for all students.



Komentarze


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page