top of page

All About the Why

Y'all! This week! It has been a challenging week, but in a good way. Before we go any further, please watch this intriguing TED Talk. (It was the beginning of my challenge and challenged my thinking.)

It's all about the why! I became aware of this concept a few months ago, and it made an impact on my life. I had a better understanding of why my school has been successful. I know why I started my school. It is a very personal story that centers around my oldest daughter. It is her story to tell, and she will in time, but I will give a brief overview. Dyslexia is a contradiction, and bullying sucks! I have gotten permission from her to share the story during interviews, but not in this blog at this time. Sadly, other students have similar experiences as my daughter. I listen to parents and students tell me stories that are very similar to my daughter's story.

I tell my students that my classroom is a no stress zone. We are relaxed and go at their pace. If they are absent, they don't miss anything. We just pick back up when they return. However, once my students realize that I'm serious about the no stress zone and they relax, you can't stop them. They are eager to learn!

My why hasn't changed. I want students to learn in a relaxed environment at their pace.

I knew my why, but I had to formulate the how. I decided that I wanted to teach students in a small group setting. The small group would allow me to teach each student individually. The small group also allows for some great discussions. Now, I'm reevaluating the how. My innovation plan is to move my students from the 4-walled classroom to an online setting. I want them to continue to develop their academic learning network with their peers, but in an online setting.

The final question to consider is the what. The what is the same for all students whether in the 4-walled classroom or in the online setting. The what is students who are confident in their skills and successful academically. I want all of my students to overcome their challenges associated with dyslexia and graduate from high school. I want them to be prepared to continue their education if they choose.

I am currently in my fourth year as Lead Teacher at De Beau Microschool. The tools needed to be successful in the how have evolved. Additionally, each student is individual. Therefore, a tool that works for one student may not work for another student. I have to be willing to admit that a tool is failing a student and be willing to adjust for the student's needs. Students are usually surprised when I'm willing to stop one thing and change to something else. They are accustomed to teachers forcing them to continue on a certain path because the state standards or administration requires for the student complete the dedicated curriculum.

To summarize:

Why= Students will be able to relax and learn at their pace in a 4-walled classroom or in an online setting.

How= Individualized instruction in a small group setting either in a 4-walled classroom or in an online setting.

What= Academically successful high school graduates who are confident in their skills and abilities; students who are prepared for college, should they choose that path.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page