top of page

Learning Networks

Learning Networks, also known as Professional Learning Networks (PLN), are essential to professionals. PLNs can help professionals with continued education, access to current tools and techniques, access to specific articles and research, as well as networking with fellow like minded professionals.

As an elementary teacher, I have joined two learning networks that are specific to the primary subject areas that I teach, math and reading.

1. The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics mission statement states: "The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics supports and advocates for the highest-quality mathematics teaching and learning for each and every student."

2. Reading Recovery Council of North America

The Reading Recovery Council of North America vision statement states: "We ensure that children who struggle in learning to read and write gain the skills for a literate and productive future."

In addition to teaching elementary students, I am also a facilitator who supervises the education of junior high and high school students. Additionally, I am pursuing a master's degree in Digital Learning and Leading. It is my goal to be able to offer a digital learning experience to my junior high and high school students. To learn more about my views regarding digital education view my Learning Manifesto.

Because my goal includes providing a digital learning experience for my older students, I have also joined a PLN that specializes in the digital education world titled EdSurge. "EdSurge delivers insights and connects those exploring how technology can support equitable opportunities for all learners." I have already begun to receive email and newsletters from EdSurge that I have found helpful.

Through the initial class of the DLL program, I learned about the Growth Mindset and the COVA approach toward learning. COVA is an acronym that stands for choice, ownership, voice, and authenticity. I learned a lot about the Growth Mindset from the book Mindset, The New Psychology of Success by Carol Dweck. To learn more about my views regarding the Growth Mindset, view my PowerPoint titled Power of the Growth Mindset. The COVA approach has impacted my educational life already! The COVA approach has allowed me to express my thoughts regarding topics in a way that is meaningful to me. I have learned how to create a voice over PowerPoint, and I am currently learning how to create a movie and edit the movie. I am excited about the possibility of creating a movie for a future assignment. I recognize that if I am this excited about the possibilities, my students will be excited as well if given the opportunity to express themselves in a way that is meaningful to them. I realize that there may be failures or stumbling blocks along the path. However, it is my desire to learn from those failures and stumbling blocks, and continue to move forward. I also want to be a role model to my students. I want them to see that I can face and overcome failures and stumbling blocks. I want my students to see me model a Growth Mindset.

References:

Dweck, Carol S. (2016). Mindset The New Psychology of Success. Ballantine Books, New York

EdSurge. (2017). Retrieved from https://www.edsurge.com/about

National Council of Teachers of Mathematics. (2017). Retrieved from http://www.nctm.org/About/

Reading Recovery Council of North America. (2017). Retrieved from https://readingrecovery.org/rrcna/about-rrcna/#vision-mission

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page