top of page

Innovation Plan Reflection

Throughout the Digital Learning and Leading (DLL) course at Lamar University, I have been developing an innovation plan. The first outline for the innovation plan was created in February of 2018. While progressing through the DLL course, I learned an abundance of information on a variety of topics. Each of those topics added depth to my knowledge, and to my innovation plan. Each new topic and tool helped to fine tune my innovation plan.

The innovation plan began initial phases began during the summer of 2018. As part of my DLL course, I learned about Schoology. Shortly after learning about Schoology, I was required to build a course using Schoology. That was scary, but exciting! I chose to build a sixth grade science course. I built out the entire science course, cover to cover of the sixth grade textbook, in my short five week course. It was a lot of work, but I enjoyed it! After completing the science course, I went on to create a sixth grade history and health course as well.

In September of 2018, the beginning of this academic year, the sixth grade students began to utilize the courses that I built in Schoology. It was then that I realized that my students were not technologically savvy. They could manipulate their cell phones easily, but did not know how to type properly on a laptop or use programs such as Word or Power Point. At that time, Schoology assignments were paused so that I could teach my students how to type. After some research, I found a free program titled Dance Mat Typing. The students loved the characters! They learned quickly. After learning to type, I began teaching the students how to use programs on the computer for assignments. The students love to create Power Points! Students are now submitting assignments regularly and easily now that they know how to type and utilize the programs on their laptops.

As part of the DLL course, I had to write a literature review. In a following course, I had to expand that literature review to incorporate a global perspective. It was then that I realized the importance of reflection in an eportfolio. At that time, I went through the courses that I created in Schoology and added reflection pieces to each chapter. During a round table discussion, I learned that the students were confused about what I desired in a reflection. It was then that I explained to them that I wanted them to tell me what they learned in the sections or chapters. What did they like, and why? What didn't they like, and why? Perhaps they could pretend to write a letter to a friend or family member telling them about what they learned. After the round table discussion I edited each reflection assignment to add, "Perhaps you could pretend to write a letter to a friend or family explaining what you have learned so far in the chapter." That explanation worked! I had some students even begin their reflections with "Dear Mawmaw." I love those in particular because the student is practicing letter writing skills while reflecting on what was learned in the chapter.

I with homeschool families at De Beau Microschool. One thing that I failed to take into account while creating my innovation plan outline was the freedom that homeschool families have with education. Students are not taught to a test date or must learn a certain amount of information before summer break. Students and families are free to travel when they choose, and work at a slower pace if needed. As a result of failing to factor in those categories, and failing to factor in lack of technology knowledge, my innovation plan timeline was off. I have recently published an updated innovation plan that has taken those factors into account. You will notice a difference in the dates for launching the innovation plan. However, you will also notice that the "Preparation" phase of the innovation plan in full swing. Students have learned how to operate their own laptops, and have been submitting assignments through Schoology. Students and parents have been participating in round table discussions.

I have learned the importance of research and preparation when preparing an innovation plan. I also learned that assumptions can throw a monkey wrench in your plan. I assumed the students knew how to type and work their laptops. I assumed wrong. I had to back track and teach those foundation skills. Now, the students are prepared and my innovation plan is back on track.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page